Stellar line-up at 2017 Alliance for Nuclear Accountability Awards event
May 16, 2017

The Alliance for Nuclear Accountability (ANA) will honor an impressive line-up of individuals and organizations at its May 23, 2017 awards reception on Capitol Hill. This year's winners are:

*   Representative Ted Lieu -- For leadership in introducing legislation to prevent any President from using nuclear weapons first in a conflict without explicit Congressional approval.

 *  International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons -- For ceaseless global leadership and public education in support of negotiations for a legally binding instrument prohibiting nuclear weapons.

 *  Tina Cordova -- For tireless efforts to honor and seek compensation for generations of innocent people affected by the first atomic bomb test at the Trinity site.

 *  Dave Kraft (pictured) -- Judith Johnsrud Unsung Hero Award in collaboration with Beyond Nuclear -- For nearly four decades of diligent dedication in the belly of the beast, and his good humored, visionary work for a nuclear-free world, demonstrating tireless determination, despite daunting odds.

*   First Annual Bill Mitchell Grassroots Activist Award honoring an individual who shares the commitment to community empowerment of ANA’s founder.

ANA represents communities downwind and downstream from U.S. nuclear weapons sites as well as those confronting the detriments posed by the nuclear power fuel chain. Beyond Nuclear serves as the nuclear power "pod" representative within ANA and helps to lead the grassroots lobbying efforts on that issue each year, that take place during the forthcoming DC Days that coincide with the awards event. The ANA Awards are at the Dirksen Senate Office Building Room 562, Capitol Hill, Washington, DC. Hors d’oeuvres and beverages will be served. Read the ANA press advisory.

Article originally appeared on Beyond Nuclear (
See website for complete article licensing information.