## **United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission**

**RE: Docket ID NRC-2009-0279** 

## **Extension Request**

Beyond Nuclear, Nuclear Information and Resource Service, and the Indian Point Safe Energy Coalition are preparing public comments for Docket ID NRC–2009–0279 and submitting this extension request of the public comment period for a minimum of six months for the following reasons:

- 1) Preparation of the ANPR was a multi-year project for NRC Staff, a mere 120 days does not allow adequate time for stakeholders in impacted reactor communities to review the technically dense and voluminous record.
- 2) While reviewing the Advanced Notice of Proposed Rulemaking ("ANPR") we discovered that many of the NRC's references in the ANPR, which the NRC staff used as the basis of the proposed rule, are publically inaccessible and unobtainable. Additionally, some references are obscure or un-credited by the Federal Register notice. In order to fully understand the basis for NRC's reasoning, public review of all foundational documents referred to by the NRC is necessary.

We have submitted the attached Freedom of Information Act ("FOIA") request in an attempt to obtain copies of the documents upon which the Proposed Rule refers. Stakeholders have been unable to obtain access to the referenced documents.

Therefore, we are respectfully requesting an extension of the public comment for Docket ID NRC-2009–0279 for a minimum six (6) months until May 24, 2015. Alternatively, we are requesting that the public comment period be extended until 180 days after all referenced documents in the ANPR are made available to the public, either by fulfillment of the FOIA request or by the NRC establishing a publically accessible electronic library for the underlying documents reviewed and relied upon by the NRC.

Sincerely,

Cindy Folkers, Beyond Nuclear

Diane D'Arrigo, Nuclear Information and Resource Service (NIRS)

Susan Shapiro, Indian Point Safe Energy Coalition (IPSEC)

Cc: NRC Chair Allison MacFarlane
Senator Barbara Boxer
Senator Dianne Feinstein
Senator Edward Markey
Senator Harry Reid
Senator Bernie Sanders
Senator Charles Schumer
Representative Eliot Engel

Representative Nita Lowey